Our Ideas

Drexel, Carleton win AIA MN Honor Awards

    Previous Next
    • Blog post

      Nine Honor Awards were announced at the 79th AIA Minnesota Annual Convention and Exhibition, on Thursday November 14. The jury, consisting of principals from three nationally recognized architecture firms, reviewed 66 honor awards submissions, all from Minnesota architecture firms. The Honor Awards were reviewed within five categories: Architecture, Interiors, Restoration & Renovation, Urban Design and Master Planning, and Small Project. The Honor Awards Jurors included: Ben Gilmartin, AIA, principal, Diller Scofidio + Renfro, New York; E.B. Min, AIA, principal, Min | Day, San Francisco; and George Z. Nikolajevich, FAIA, principal, Cannon Design, St. Louis. Jurors said that these nine submissions gave a real snapshot of the meaning of architecture today.


      The Honor Awards, a tribute to architectural excellence, encourage a high level of architecture, recognizes the clients and architects who have distinguished themselves, and informs the public of these important architectural contributions. Two MSR projects will receive Honor Awards this year: the Drexel University College of Media Arts and Design (CoMAD) URBN Center in Philadelphia, and the Carleton College Weitz Center for Creativity in Northfield, Minnesota.


      Honor Awards will be officially presented to recipients on Friday, December 6, at the 2013 Awards Celebration at McNamara Alumni Center at the University of Minnesota, in Minneapolis. Two MSR architects will also be recognized at this year’s ceremony: principal Paul C.N. Mellblom will receive the Louis Lundgren Award, and architect Eric Amel will receive a Young Architects Award.

    • Drexel University College of Media Arts and Design (CoMAD) URBN Center
    • Carleton College Weitz Center for Creativity
    • About the Author

      Ligeia Cholensky

      • Administrative Staff / Associate
      • ligeia@msrdesign.com
      • 612 356 3856
      • View Bio